Eat Local Project

Standard

To kick off Project Life, I decided to begin with a Eat Local Challenge. The challenge (spawned from an assignment in my Urban Farm class) is to eat only Local for (at least) 2 complete days. After that, I plan to use the rest of the food up that I have already purchased, and from now on, really focus on buying local and organic!

I decided that buying local, for me, would be buying as close to home as possible, and not buying anything out of Oregon. I came to this decision because I wanted to challenge myself to have the smallest environmental footprint I possibly could and also, I wanted to challenge myself to eat seasonally.

I began my local excursion as I always do, venturing to Sundance on a bright sunny morning. Alright well I ventured to Sundance, but it was, of course, a dreary Eugene morning. But I was not deterred from my mission! Vegetables were very easy to come by, especially with my feast harvested from the Urban Farm. Fruit, very limited at this time of year, consisted of mainly apples and pears (this was my first lesson). I had an especially hard time with my grains, realizing that rice cannot obviously be local, and bread is almost never local. Meat and dairy were expensive things, but those items are not terribley common in my diet anyways.

After leaving Sundance, I realized I lacked some crucial staples. I searched online later that night and found www.eugenelocalfoods.com. This website is incredible and had everything I needed. I order some bison burger, chantrelles, eggs, and Local Flour! the first time. Then about an hour later I went back on and ordered some frozen berries (lesson two).  The ordering process was very easy and the items can be picked up Tuesdays at  Hideaway Bakery (which is very convenient because Tuesdays are wood fire oven pizza, ninkasi, and live music nights!).

Speaking of Ninkasi, drinking local will never be an issue for me. Living in Oregon is a blessing in beer and wine world and should be fully embraced. Mirror Pond Pale Ale, Ninkasi Oatis Stout, Hop Valley IPA, Willamette Valley Vineyards, I could go on forever…

I am inspired by the plethora of incredible food I acquired- purple cauliflower, Oregon wild rice, rainbow carrots, yellow zucchinis, dried prunes- just by spending a little extra money and a little extra time (lesson three)

Today, a girl in my Urban Farm class said, “Oh but I am so hungry, arent you starving too?” Starving? I thought. Hardly!

About Megan French

I am a dreamer. I am a hopeful soul that thinks one day we could come together to support each other in a community; support one another's services, hard-work, products, and knowledge. I hope that one day we can be global and local thinkers; supporting each other economically through local interactions and supporting the world globally by respecting other cultures and learning from them. Through local thought and community relationships we can clean up our world environments, power figures, and idea about what is most important in our lives. It all begins with knowledge and understand about how to get back to the basics: cooking, sewing, foraging, preserving, scouting... DIY for life and for the future of our society.

Leave a Reply

