Garden Crazy

Standard

October is a tough month in Oregon! Constant harvesting and tilling and planting and tilling and harvesting. The urban farm has been exploding with veggies, much more than I expected: tomatoes, swiss chard, leeks, carrots!, and basil. Can you say lasagna? (Check out the recipe!)

 I have been experimenting with putting my bed to sleep, trying to break up this notoriously Oregon clay and mixing in some  organic matter. I started with a pine needle mulch, but I was told it is  extremely acidic, so I found some free leaf mulch. Hoping that will help. I have worked on my garden about five hours in the past two days and haven’t even gotten half way done. I am holding strong though.

I decided that I will continue tilling the garden, then I will plant my vetch and rye. Planting legumes and grains help to balance the soil out, adding the NPK (nitrogen, phosphorous, and potassium) that the plants need -Potassium goes down (the roots) and phosphorous is all around (the plant)- The vetch is supposed to have roots that break up tough soil and the rye is really hardy (hopefully I will get some rye grain too!). In the spring, I think I will make some raised bed with wood supports around the outside. I need to get a good bed going quick, because I feel my gardening life in Eugene is limited, and I may only have one or two summers left.

Its garlic planting season too! Gonna get my garlic, hopefully some onions, and some bulb flowers in the ground soon for a nice spring welcoming!

About Megan French

I am a dreamer. I am a hopeful soul that thinks one day we could come together to support each other in a community; support one another's services, hard-work, products, and knowledge. I hope that one day we can be global and local thinkers; supporting each other economically through local interactions and supporting the world globally by respecting other cultures and learning from them. Through local thought and community relationships we can clean up our world environments, power figures, and idea about what is most important in our lives. It all begins with knowledge and understand about how to get back to the basics: cooking, sewing, foraging, preserving, scouting... DIY for life and for the future of our society.

Leave a Reply

