Feelin the cold rush in…

Standard

Its been difficult working on the garden lately- no car, no sunshine, no time. A lot of the work can wait until the spring time now, but would have liked to get some more brassicas in the ground (like kale and maybe some spinach). There are a lot of good resources here for buying local food though, so I guess I’ll stick with that.

There is a silver lining of these soggy Eugene winters: with the rain and cold brings warmth from the kitchen. I have been working on perfecting my spicy chai recipe. I am using green tea and have experimented with cloves, lavender, anise, cinnamon, and nutmeg. I think I want to get some cardamon and ginger today maybe.  Also trying to get a wasil recipe together that is even a tiny bit comparable to the nectar of the gods that my mother makes.

I have been a little bake crazy as well. There is nothing I love more than to work hard during the week and spend time with my boyfriend Shane on the weekends, eating good rich food, drinking wine,  laughing, and hanging out in our pajamas all day. I think these days are what keeps me sane. On the baking list for the past couple weeks: pumpkin spice cupcakes (decorations turned out great!), chocolate mint swirled cookies, pumpkin walnut cookies, oatmeal chocolate chip cookies, and bread bread bread.

Today I am working on baking a whole chicken that I got from the local exchange. I made a mix of course salt, pepper, fresh picked rosemary, local garlic, parsley, oregano, basil, and olive oil and rubbed in between the skin and the breast of the chicken. Its been marinating all night and I am excited to bake it tonight for my honey to come home to. I am thinking of making some mashed potato with purple cauliflower.

The leaves are absolutely beautiful, makes me appreciate the sun so much more. My goal this winter is to work on finding the beauty and embracing all things sweet and comforting winter brings.

About Megan French

I am a dreamer. I am a hopeful soul that thinks one day we could come together to support each other in a community; support one another's services, hard-work, products, and knowledge. I hope that one day we can be global and local thinkers; supporting each other economically through local interactions and supporting the world globally by respecting other cultures and learning from them. Through local thought and community relationships we can clean up our world environments, power figures, and idea about what is most important in our lives. It all begins with knowledge and understand about how to get back to the basics: cooking, sewing, foraging, preserving, scouting... DIY for life and for the future of our society.

Leave a Reply

