Spring Goals and Health Aspirations

Standard

This winter, to say the least, was hard. I got GERD (maybe, still need to see a gastroenterologist), then I got mono. Talk about some icing on the cake. But, through all of this, it has really made me think; think about my emotions, my relationships, and my physical health. I really feel honored to have such a wonderful family first of all, I guess it doesnt hurt to be sick on Valentines day when chocolates and flowers are involved. Also, my wonderful Shane has been really gentle with me, not making me feel childish, but really just making me feel loved.

But beyond that, I have really had to think logically about the amount of stress I am putting on myself. I am a very good time manager and felt little stress, but forcing myself to lie down for over a week really made me realize the amount of pressure I have in my life. I decided that the amount of actual work I am doing is unnecessary and schooling will have to be better managed. So here are some goals to bring my life back to relaxed happiness.

  1. I was (finally) offered a job as a bread baker at Eugene City Bakery. I have made the difficult decision that I will quit at Mangiamo and work less, but more fulfilling, hours at Eugene City.
  2. I also feel this desire to reinvent my creative self. I recently found out the craft center pass only costs $15 dollars a term. I can take an intro to the wheel class that only lasts two days and shane can get into the woodshop. My sewing machine has been screaming at me from inside the closet all year and needs a chance to breath. I was also given a wonderful digital Nikon for Christmas that has hardly had a chance to be used for beauty yet and my baking skills are leaving me. I need to CREATE!
  3. I really would like to do more fulfilling physical activities. I worked my ass off two hours a day in the gym, running almost 5 miles a day and lifting. I believe this was also a great part of my demise to mono. I would like to continue running, but I would also like to go on many more hikes and begin doing (my first true love) yoga again. Yoga helped me through some hard times before, and I believe it can again

My list will grow, I am sure. But for now, I believe that these things will help to relieve this boring, bland life i have created for myself over these past few years. I never want to be this sick and stressed again, and I want to truly enjoy my last few terms at this University.

About Megan French

I am a dreamer. I am a hopeful soul that thinks one day we could come together to support each other in a community; support one another's services, hard-work, products, and knowledge. I hope that one day we can be global and local thinkers; supporting each other economically through local interactions and supporting the world globally by respecting other cultures and learning from them. Through local thought and community relationships we can clean up our world environments, power figures, and idea about what is most important in our lives. It all begins with knowledge and understand about how to get back to the basics: cooking, sewing, foraging, preserving, scouting... DIY for life and for the future of our society.

Leave a Reply

