Goal check in

Standard

So its been about a month since I have posted anything, and its been a crazy one as always. I finally got a day off to sit down, and I thought maybe it was time to check in on the goals I set for myself during this rough winter…

My first goal was to work less, but more fulfilling hours at Eugene City. So far, I have definitely felt more fulfilled at the bakery, but definitely not working less hours. I am hanging out around 25 to 30 hours, and though it seems to be a lot, I am still managing to have energy and am still excited to go to work everyday. I am officially trained on making laminate pastry dough, which is a ton of fun and a great skill to know. There is something so invigorating about throwing 45 pounds of dough around. I am also working the Saturday market. It is great to be able to trade goods and by pass the entire monetary system. It feels right. A loaf for some radishes and greens, wonderful thank you.  And speaking of the market, we are starting to get some great local foods back that I missed so much. Radishes (new found love), baby parsnips, beets, greens, shroomies, yum. Not to mention, Field to Table is right across from us, what a treat. In the morning the guys came over and got a few loaves of polenta from us, walked around and gathered some other market goodies. About an hour later, they brought over the most delicious breakfast I have ever tasted: A duck confit scramble with polenta cakes and greens. Bomb!

My second goal was to “reinvent my creative self.” So far, that one has been a struggle, as always, but I am trying to get back into it.  I signed up for a two day sewing class that has already boosted my sewing confidence ten fold in only one day. The class is based around tailoring and alternations, but just relearning to use the equipment and getting a feel for Bernina was all I needed. I am also taking the only class I think that has ever helped me in college before: BA 410 New Business Planning. I am a “practically” creative, so this class has helped me to create the business I want and to release my sustainable and “green” creativity.  More on the business later.

My last goal was to do more fulfilling physical activities. This I have done the worst at. It was very difficult to get back into the gym after being sick for so long, it was partially a fear thing and mostly a motivational thing. I am now going about 3 to 4 times a week and am pretty happy with that. I stand for 7 to 12 hours at work when I go most days, so I can justify the days off :). I also recently checked out the YMCA and found that they offer a monthly pass for 35 dollars for students that includes Everything. They have so many yoga classes to offer; anywhere from 2 (on the weekends) to 7 classes a day. I plan on getting a pass after I am secured on money (with having to find a new place to live and all..).

This summer without Shane will be difficult, but I think it will also force me to have to fill time with “things.” What better things can I think of then yoga, gardening, and sewing. I am already starting, just finished planting my herb garden, got some starts for the Skinner garden, and am starting a small sewing project that just involves making grocery bags for myself (and family/friends), because who wants to spend 1 dollar (for slave labored carcinogen filled) to 5 dollars for grocery bags when I can practically do them for free.

Oh, one last quick thing, Jasmine IPA is officially bottled. Heavy Head Brew #3. HHB #4 maybe an orange heff?

About Megan French

I am a dreamer. I am a hopeful soul that thinks one day we could come together to support each other in a community; support one another's services, hard-work, products, and knowledge. I hope that one day we can be global and local thinkers; supporting each other economically through local interactions and supporting the world globally by respecting other cultures and learning from them. Through local thought and community relationships we can clean up our world environments, power figures, and idea about what is most important in our lives. It all begins with knowledge and understand about how to get back to the basics: cooking, sewing, foraging, preserving, scouting... DIY for life and for the future of our society.

Leave a Reply

