Agate Alley

Standard

Agate Alley is quickly becoming one of my favorite destinations for dining and drinking. They have an amazing outdoor seating area that is warmed by a pine stocked fire and a eclectic yet classy indoor seating area. I decided to get a tasty drink there after a long day of working Saturday Market and wanted something especially thirst quenching and body soothing; upon searching the cocktail list I was torn between the Agate Alley Lemonade (Absolute Citron, ginger syrup, lemon juice, pomegranate, soda) and the Marionberry Mint Margarita. I chose the latter, a smooth, fruity concoction that had a perfect blend of Sauza silver, triple sec, fresh sour, organic marionberries, fresh mint. So refreshing…

I went back one Sunday morning for their brunch and was once again happily surprised. I sat alone in the outside seating area, reading the paper and drinking fresh squeezed orange juice until my meal had arrived. All of the brunch items had cute local street names, like the Onyx Street, Emerald Street, etc., but I chose the University Street, which they describe as “Smoked Salmon Hash. House-smoked wild salmon, hash browns, bell peppers and onions, hashin’ it out with two poached eggs and our house-made hollandaise. Served with toast and choice of side.” The side choices are Oregon Peppered Bacon, chicken apple sausage, veggie sausage, agate alley hash browns, or seasonal fruit. I chose the fruit because, wow, it already sounded like plenty of food.

I only ate half my meal because the portions were so generous. But believe me, it was hard to put down my fork. I started becoming more and more interested in their business and learned that…

“We are committed to buying local and organic vegetables, fruits, meats and seafood, and serving them to you with passion, intelligence and gravitas. We proudly serve only the best of the northwest’s wines and brews. With daily lunch and dinner specials taking full advantage of seasonal harvests, Agate Alley pledges to make your experience exceptional.”

I am also excited to announce that I will be making the challah bread for their new menu item: Wild Mushroom Crostini:  Grilled Eugene City Bakery Challah bread, topped with grilled seasonal wild mushrooms and mixed greens. Dressed with Champagne Truffle Vinaigrette.

I cant wait to try out their Fondue Mondays,  Taco Tuesdays ($2 tacos $4 margaritas!), and Ecopint Wednesdays! Go Agate Alley!


About Megan French

I am a dreamer. I am a hopeful soul that thinks one day we could come together to support each other in a community; support one another's services, hard-work, products, and knowledge. I hope that one day we can be global and local thinkers; supporting each other economically through local interactions and supporting the world globally by respecting other cultures and learning from them. Through local thought and community relationships we can clean up our world environments, power figures, and idea about what is most important in our lives. It all begins with knowledge and understand about how to get back to the basics: cooking, sewing, foraging, preserving, scouting... DIY for life and for the future of our society.

Leave a Reply

