New home new start.

Standard

So, I figured the best way to get my start off on the right *green* foot is to begin fresh with a new home. This new home will be about efficient use of products, little waste, and just overall happy fresh livin. The first thing I am going to do is call EWEB to set up my electricity. But this time I will be signing up with EWEB’s GreenPower option; for just $0.01 more per Kilowatt hour I will be using green energy. 72% of the electricity comes from wind power and the rest comes from biogas and solar energy. Last month I used about 550 Kilowatt hours and at hour highest I think it was around 800. So thats between 5 and 8 dollars extra a month. There is also the option to sign up for Kilowatt blocks, so that you just exchange portions of your electricity for renewable energy. This is so simple, I cant believe I did not do it earlier.

Also, thankfully our new landlord has already replaced all the light bulbs with compact fluorescent bulbs which last much longer and save a ton of energy, not to mention he put a ten year battery in the fire detector. 

The next thing I would like to do is switch all my shampoo and soap containers to reusable one and begin refilling them at Sundance. Its a very simple process and will help to keep me from using that  not-very-easy-to-recycle plastic. I plan to do this with many things in my house: dry food, cleansers, soaps, etc. Speaking of cleansers, I also plan on just keeping bottles of vinegar, lemon juice, baking soda water around for cleaning (found some recipes for more heavy duty cleaners that include Worcestershire sauce strange I know!).

Other simple green ideas include:  (1) set up a three (four sort of) refuse “station:” One for recycles, one for cans/bottle return stuff, one for trash, and outside I will have my compost bin as always (which i have been doing already, but I want to make it more efficient). My goal is to only have to take out the actual trash once a month. I think that is a pretty good goal and hope to cut it down even more than that. (2) sew more grocery bags for family (got about 4 done for myself). (3) use a linen coffee filter (4) continue growing herbs and hang strawberry plants. Also, some more expensive things I would like to get eventually are organic cotton or wool sheets and comforter, as well as organic cotton towels. Some day…

These things all feel very manageable and a simple, yet logical next step to lightening the load I place on the Earth.

About Megan French

I am a dreamer. I am a hopeful soul that thinks one day we could come together to support each other in a community; support one another's services, hard-work, products, and knowledge. I hope that one day we can be global and local thinkers; supporting each other economically through local interactions and supporting the world globally by respecting other cultures and learning from them. Through local thought and community relationships we can clean up our world environments, power figures, and idea about what is most important in our lives. It all begins with knowledge and understand about how to get back to the basics: cooking, sewing, foraging, preserving, scouting... DIY for life and for the future of our society.

3 responses »

  1. Thanks for the info on green power! That’s great to know. Would love to see the Emerald do an article on that!! I wonder if the UO uses that?
    Also, have you tried the shampoos/conditioners at Sundance? Are they good? I’m looking to switch from high-chemical hair products to more natural ones, including face washes (I pretty much only use shampoo and conditioner…no hairspray or gel or anything). Do they have glass reusable bottles or what are they made from?
    I’ve been doing the trash/recycling thing for awhile. It feels so good to not have a ton of trash…we always have more recycling than trash! Once Luna is big enough to use her cloth diapers that we bought, hopefully we will have much less trash, too :)

  2. Fantastic! Great info,if we can get the word out and show people how easy it is maybe everyone will make it a way of life! Great job Megan!

  3. Yeah Sundance has a few different brands of bulk natural shampoo, and also bulk “general” soap. I call it that because its kind of an all in one like you can do the dishes with it, or use it as hand soap, or as a general cleanser. I am not sure if they sell reusable bottles there, but Down to Earth has a ton of that kind of stuff. I will probably go their next week sometime if you would like to join.

Leave a Reply

