First Attempt Canning = Success!

Standard

I, Megan French, have finally preserved something. The process was not nearly as tedious and exhausting as the books and generation Y have made it out to be. I only canned about 6 pints though, so maybe when I get to my 25lbs of oranges it will be different. I decided to just keep it simple this time and do plain ol’ carrots, no salt, no nothing. Except, I did add a little lemon juice, because I was freaked out about the amount of acid I should have. But have recently realized that it is quite unnecessary because (a) i hot packed them, so that means I boiled them before canning, and (b) I used a pressure canner, not just a hot water bath. So next time, no juice.

Canning Process:

  1. Scrub/Wash vegetables.
  2. (Do not worry about peeling) chop, dice, leave whole, vegetables.
  3. Boil vegetables for 3-5 minutes, you dont want them too soft, just “sterilized.”
  4. Pack jars to recommended amount (this is a pretty good website: http://www.extension.iastate.edu/publications/pm1044.pdf)
  5. Fill with boiling water and leave headspace
  6. Can in pressure canner at recommended pressure for recommended time.

That is basically it. And now, I can eat local veggies all winter long! Going out to Detering Orchards today to pick some Strawberries (and maybe some Zucchini). No spray, less than 10 miles away, $.99 a pound. Driving today, but once I know the way, hopefully I can bike out to the farm. Happy summer!

About Megan French

I am a dreamer. I am a hopeful soul that thinks one day we could come together to support each other in a community; support one another's services, hard-work, products, and knowledge. I hope that one day we can be global and local thinkers; supporting each other economically through local interactions and supporting the world globally by respecting other cultures and learning from them. Through local thought and community relationships we can clean up our world environments, power figures, and idea about what is most important in our lives. It all begins with knowledge and understand about how to get back to the basics: cooking, sewing, foraging, preserving, scouting... DIY for life and for the future of our society.

Leave a Reply

