Eating local is just so darn hard…

Standard

I have truly been suffering through my last few meals…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Also, I am quickly filling up my cupboards and freezer with goodies for the winter, I am nervous about running out of room already! I have been keeping a tally of the items I am preserving, how I am preserving them, quantity, etc. I am hoping by doing so I will be able to see (at the end of winter) what I needed more of, what I didnt need as much of, and what I could have done differently. I am also devising a plan for a make-shift “root cellar” box for my back patio. Ideas to come soon!

This is kind of a rough idea so far, I will probably need to tweak later, and I definitely need to keep preserving! So excited for all the tasty treats of autumn…

preservation list

Another project I have been working on is inventorying all the food products I currently have/use that are nonlocal, and trying to decide whether I can (a) give it up, (b) create an alternative, or (c) continue buying non-locally… here is what I have so far, hopefully I will find more alternatives and be able to leave the non local foods behind…

  1. Olive Oil: this is a hard one, the benefits of olive oil are great, and yet it must travel so far. I have decided I will continue to use it, but I will use it sparingly. I will make large quantities of dressing at a time to keep in my refrigerator and use it in some cooking. I will try to start supplementing butter for many of its uses though.
  2. Salt: I believe I can get salt from the Oregon Coast.
  3. Spices: This is a tricky one, I will definitely start drying my own key spices like Thyme, Rosemary, Oregano, Sage, Dill, etc. Many are easily grown and easily dried. The only ones I think I will continue to buy nonlocal are pepper and cinnamon. I can live without many of the rest.
  4. Vinegar: I have been going through vinegar like crazy with all the pickling and canning I have done lately. I would like to make my own vinegar for next years canning and found a great site that explains all the different types of vinegar. It seems simple, but I am a little late in the game for this seasons canning because it takes roughly 2 months.
  5. Oatmeal: This was one I was worried about for awhile but I just discovered that my beloved Camas Country Mill also has oats now! Thank goodness.
  6. Chocolate: I have been debating with this one forever… I still dont know…
  7. Sugar: This product I have completely eliminated from home use, I use only honey now. BUT… I still eat it at work, and I still eat way too much of it. It is bad for my health and for my environment. I hope to have it eliminated from my diet within the next 6 months.
  8. Corn Grits/Polenta: Just discovered today that all you gotta do is dry your corn, and then run it through a grinder or mill. Simple as that. Seems I have to buy a grinder now…

I will continue adding to my list (or hopefully decreasing it…). We will learn how to become local and sustainable together in time!

About Megan French

I am a dreamer. I am a hopeful soul that thinks one day we could come together to support each other in a community; support one another's services, hard-work, products, and knowledge. I hope that one day we can be global and local thinkers; supporting each other economically through local interactions and supporting the world globally by respecting other cultures and learning from them. Through local thought and community relationships we can clean up our world environments, power figures, and idea about what is most important in our lives. It all begins with knowledge and understand about how to get back to the basics: cooking, sewing, foraging, preserving, scouting... DIY for life and for the future of our society.

Leave a Reply

