Winter Break Come Early

Standard

So I finished my two finals today, only have one more on Tuesday, and already I can feel this incredible weight lifted off of my chest (literally, it is, you know, easier to breathe!). Before I even got home from my finals, I got off of the bus, walked into my local grocer, and picked up some goodies for some early holiday cookin’. Today is the final day of Fall 2011 Urban Farm, and, as tradition has it, we are having a potluck. Potlucks are my thing baby. My chance to show off new recipes and test them on the general public. So, my two recipes I tested out today are: Homemade Eggnog and Apple Peach Pie.

So the Eggnog, courtesy of Alton Brown, is the real deal. I am talking, thick, creamy, and did I forget to mention, full of booze. Oh yeah! This recipe can be made cold, but I did the heated recipe (better safe than sorry). I tried to alter the recipe so it was as local as possible.I also think that raw milk would work the best. Maybe even raw goat milk. Goatnog anyone?

  • 8 eggs, separated (I used my favorite Blissfully Produced)
  • 4 cups whole milk (Alpenrose)
  • 2 cups heavy cream (Lochmead, I wish I could use a different source, but this was the most local I could find)
  • 1 1/2 cups honey (any local source is good)
  • 2 tsp nutmeg (I used fresh ground and used about one whole nut)
  • Cinnamon to taste
  • 8oz bourbon or rum (I used Bicardi rum)
  • Directions: Heat the milk, cream, honey, and spices until just boiling. While the milk is warming, mix the egg yolks until thick and changes color (will get a bit lighter). Once the milk is boiling, remove it from the heat, and slowly temper the egg yolks. This means take little bits of the hot liquid and add to the egg whisking quickly. This keeps the egg from scrambling while incorporating it into the mixture. Once the egg is tempered, add it to the milk mixture and heat again until mixture reaches 160 degrees. Remove from heat and add booze. Allow mix to cool. While mixture is cooling, whip egg whites until soft peaks form. Add egg whites to the cool nog mixture. At this point I tasted and realized that I need to add some sweetness so I added a little bit of brown sugar, you may also try more honey or maple syrup if you would like.

The Apple Peach Pie is something I kind of just went with in my head based on a simple Apple Pie recipe. You can also add some other yummy things like ginger, plums, or chai.

  • Crust (see previous blog entry about the perfect, easy-to-use crust)
  • 5-6 Granny Smith apples (I really don’t have a preference for any special type of apple other than red delicious. dont use these, they lack flavor and fall apart).
  • 2-3 Peaches (I used 1 jar of peaches that I preserved from the summer and about a half jar of peach jam I made)
  • 2 Tbsp butter, melted (Alpenrose)
  • 1/2-1 c flour (Camas)
  • 1 c brown sugar (I think honey could work, I need to try this soon)
  • Lots o cinnamon (as much as you like, I like all my baking spicy though. You could also add nutmeg, cloves, and ground ginger here)
  • Directions: This is so simple its silly. Peel, core, and thinly slice the apples and peaches. Mix all ingredients together so that the apples and peaches are lightly coated with sugar, flour, and spice. Add filling to crust. Use second crust as a lattice or place over top and make sure to cut slices to allow for steam. I like to take left over scraps and cut with cookie cutters to add a little flare to the pies. Bake for about an hour.

I am also very excited to get my sewing and knitting projects going for the winter. I am making Shane some hunting garb (or maybe just camo patterned pajamas depending on how they turn out) and finally getting to my grocery bag project. I am just taking all the free fabric I can find and making grocery bags for myself and as many people as I can supply them to.

Off to my potluck! Happy Winter Everyone!

About Megan French

I am a dreamer. I am a hopeful soul that thinks one day we could come together to support each other in a community; support one another's services, hard-work, products, and knowledge. I hope that one day we can be global and local thinkers; supporting each other economically through local interactions and supporting the world globally by respecting other cultures and learning from them. Through local thought and community relationships we can clean up our world environments, power figures, and idea about what is most important in our lives. It all begins with knowledge and understand about how to get back to the basics: cooking, sewing, foraging, preserving, scouting... DIY for life and for the future of our society.

Leave a Reply

