Megan’s Patio Oasis

Standard

Lots of exciting things happening in Megan’s Apartment Patio Oasis. The cutest of those happenings is our new 5 week old bunny. We got him from our wonderful friends Jenny and Keegan of the Eugene Garden Lounge, when we first got the little guy we thought he was a little girl. So sadly, he may be eaten earlier than anticipated. But he is a great addition to the family, quite the character, and though he has bitten Keegan and our friend Matt, he only licks me. I have been doing a lot of research on what to feed him and tried to make him a nice little home. So far, we are trying to do as many fresh veggies as possible. This has really just included radish tops and some parsley right now (the farmers at market are giving me the tops), but the only other veggies around right now are mainly lettuces and kales, which are not good for rabbits to eat. Along with the veggies, we are feeding him timothy hay and supplementing with alfalfa pellets (be careful of too much alfalfa though because its high in protein and can beef up your bunny). He sleeps in a giant dog kennel with a dresser drawer I re-purposed into a little sleeping den.

Its nice to wake up every morning and go to bed every night with the ritual of feeding this little creature and make his life as happy as possible. I really feel great appreciation for all my meat farmers for the love and hard work they put into rearing these animals. I can’t wait to move into a bigger place and have a bigger part in my own food consumption. I appreciate this rabbit too for all he will give me.

After my past post on repurposed garden goods, I got a wild hair, and headed down to my local recycle center. I could have gone a lot crazier (the bright red retro bath tub perhaps?), but I held back and picked up some pretty sweet planters and additions to my Patio Oasis. I bought one very large and three small glass and brass light fixtures (the holes in the top where the wires go in are perfect drainage holes for the plants). I also grabbed a bright blue ironing board to use as a shelf for planters, a globe light fixture for a hanging terrarium, and a few more odds and ends to plant in. Overall I spent about twenty dollars and am pretty happy with my loot.

The tiny plot of land I call my backyard is doing ok though. Better than expected actually. I’ve put in 5 budding potatoes that now have new leaves and seem to be trucking along even in light of the lack of light, a few strawberries, lots of herbs, and some greens that seem happy as can be. My cilantro and broccoli are acting a little sad; the rain beat the fragile little guys down. I am hoping this day of sun perks them back up.

I also started my first batch of kombucha thanks to Sundance Grocery who sells starter batches. The great thing about kombucha is though I bought a starter, I can now use the mushroom for practically as long as I can keep it alive and brewing. The batch I started was a Jasmine Tea which I then added a bit of lavender tea too. The whole process is so easy I have no idea why I did not start years ago. Basically this is what you do:

  1. Make tea (usually a gallon at a time). I think you can pretty much use any tea you like, though black tea is the most popular.
  2. Add sugar (about one cup). The directions I got said the company did not have as good of luck with sugar substitutes like honey or rice syrup, though I would still like to try a batch with honey sometime to keep it local.
  3. Let cool (until around room temp, I guess the SCOBY does best around 70-90 degrees)
  4. Add the SCOBY.
  5. Wait 7-30 days.

Bam! Done! This process is so simple and so material cheap that experimenting with the Kombucha will be very fun and rewarding. My Kombucha will be done in the next 1-3 weeks and I’ll let you know how it goes.

Well, I must get on with my day seeing as though it is my only day of  canning and cleaning, hello Vanilla Rhubarb Earl Grey Jam (thanks Food in Jars), Pickled Radishes, and possibly some cherry blossom spread (more research needed on this). Happy spring!

About Megan French

I am a dreamer. I am a hopeful soul that thinks one day we could come together to support each other in a community; support one another's services, hard-work, products, and knowledge. I hope that one day we can be global and local thinkers; supporting each other economically through local interactions and supporting the world globally by respecting other cultures and learning from them. Through local thought and community relationships we can clean up our world environments, power figures, and idea about what is most important in our lives. It all begins with knowledge and understand about how to get back to the basics: cooking, sewing, foraging, preserving, scouting... DIY for life and for the future of our society.

One response »

Leave a Reply

